The Best FIFA Football Awards: England’s Beth Mead, Leah Williamson, Keira Walsh and Jude Bellingham make shortlist

by | Jan 12, 2023 | Global Football News | 0 comments


England’s Beth Mead, captain Leah Williamson and midfield star Keira Walsh have all made it onto the initial 14-strong list for The Best FIFA Women’s Player award; Jude Bellingham makes the list for the best men’s player, as does Argentina’s World Cup-winning captain Lionel Messi

STOKE ON TRENT, ENGLAND - SEPTEMBER 06: Leah Williamson and Beth Mead of England during the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 Qualifier group D match between England and Luxembourg at Bet365 Stadium on September 6, 2022 in Stoke on Trent , United Kingdom. (Photo by Visionhaus/Getty Images) *** Local Caption *** Leah Williamson; Beth Mead

England’s Leah Williamson and Beth Mead are included on the shortlist, alongside team-mate Keira Walsh

Three of the England team which triumphed at the Women’s Euros have been shortlisted in FIFA’s annual player awards, while Argentina’s World Cup-winning captain Lionel Messi is the standout name on the men’s list.

Top scorer Beth Mead, captain Leah Williamson and midfield star Keira Walsh have all made it onto the initial 14-strong list for The Best FIFA Women’s Player award.

Spain and Barcelona star Alexia Putellas, who won the award last year, has been shortlisted again, with Chelsea and Australia star Sam Kerr also on the list.

Messi’s World Cup heroics earn him a place on the list of 14 for the best men’s player, alongside his international team-mate Julian Alvarez of Manchester City.

England midfielder Jude Bellingham is on the list after a stellar World Cup which has made him one of the most sought-after players on the planet, while France forward Kylian Mbappe, who scored a hat-trick in last month’s World Cup final but still ended up on the losing side, is also nominated.

In addition to Alvarez, there are three more current Premier League players on the list – his City team-mates Kevin De Bruyne and Erling Haaland along with Liverpool’s Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah.

Salah’s former Reds team-mate Sadio Mane, now with Bayern Munich, is also on the list. Morocco’s incredible run to the World Cup semi-finals is recognised with Paris Saint-Germain full-back Achraf Hakimi’s inclusion, while three members of Real Madrid’s Champions League-winning team – Karim Benzema, Luka Modric and Vinicius Junior – are in contention.

Wiegman, Hayes, Pep in line for best coach award

Real coach Carlo Ancelotti is one of five names on the best men’s coach shortlist. He is joined by Argentina’s World Cup-winning coach Lionel Scaloni, France’s Didier Deschamps, Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola and Morocco boss Walid Regragui.

England coach Sarina Wiegman is on the women’s coach list, alongside Chelsea’s Emma Hayes, Lyon coach Sonia Bompastor, Canada’s English coach Bev Priestman, Brazil’s Swedish coach Pia Sundhage and Germany’s Martina Voss-Tecklenburg.

Lionesses number one Mary Earps is nominated for the best women’s goalkeeper prize, with Premier League stars Alisson, Ederson and Emiliano Martinez in the running for the men’s goalkeeper award.

Alessia Russo’s incredible back-heeled finish in England’s Euros semi-final win over Sweden is among the contenders for the FIFA Puskas Award for the year’s best goal, with Kylian Mbappe‘s volley, which took the World Cup final to extra-time, and Richarlison‘s scissor kick for Brazil against Serbia in the World Cup group stage also included.

Voting closes on February 3, with the three finalists in each category to be announced later that month.


Related Posts


What do you think?


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Learn More

Related Posts