Women’s World Cup 2023: Draw date, teams, schedule and final for Australia and New Zealand tournament

by | Oct 13, 2022 | Global Football News | 0 comments


Women’s World Cup 2023 takes place in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 to August 20; first Women’s World Cup to feature 32 teams competing in eight groups; England and the Republic of Ireland have both qualified for the tournament; draw takes place on October 22 at 7.30am

With England and the Republic of Ireland qualified for the 2023 Women’s World Cup, here’s all you need to know about next year’s tournament, including the draw date.

When and where is the 2023 Women’s World Cup?

Next year’s tournament will be held in Australia and New Zealand making it the first ever co-hosted Women’s World Cup.

The tournament starts on July 20 with the final taking place on August 20 in Sydney at the Accor Stadium.

The USA are the defending champions and are looking to become the first team in the competition’s history to win the tournament three times in a row.

Who has qualified so far?

The England team celebrate winning Euro 2022

England are aiming to become world champions after winning the European Championships this summer

This Women’s World Cup is the first to feature 32 teams, after the previous edition in 2019 saw 24 countries compete.

England and the Republic of Ireland are two of 29 teams to have qualified for the tournament so far:

  • Australia (co-hosts)
  • New Zealand (co-hosts)
  • China (AFC)
  • Japan (AFC)
  • Philippines (AFC)
  • South Korea (AFC)
  • Vietnam (AFC)
  • Morocco (CAF)
  • Nigeria (CAF)
  • South Africa (CAF)
  • Zambia (CAF)
  • Canada (CONCACAF)
  • Costa Rica (CONCACAF)
  • Jamaica (CONCACAF)
  • United States (CONCACAF)
  • Argentina (CONMEBOL)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL)
  • Colombia (CONMEBOL)
  • Denmark (UEFA)

England (UEFA)

  • France (UEFA)
  • Germany (UEFA)
  • Italy (UEFA)
  • Netherlands (UEFA)
  • Norway (UEFA)

Republic of Ireland (UEFA)

  • Spain (UEFA)
  • Sweden (UEFA)
  • Switzerland (UEFA)

Ten teams will compete for the final three places at the inter-confederation play-off tournament in February, which will be held in New Zealand:


Related Posts


What do you think?


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Learn More

Related Posts